Triticale Mid April

Triticale Mid April

Triticale in Mid May

Triticale in Mid May

Headed out Triticale

Headed out Triticale (June 12th)

Today my triticale is all headed out and in the flower stage. I planted it October 16-20th, and it didn’t sprout until we got some good rains the last week of October.  I got 2 sets of water on it starting April 18th, and then shut off for a few days as it was still cool and the plants were still pretty small. We had a good heat wave in middle of May, and Boom, it took off.  I could almost see it grow.  In early May I had put down 70 units of N and 20 units of K, relying on residual N in the soil from the peas to add up to about 90 total units of available N to the plant.  When the heat came, the fertilizer was watered in and ready for the plant.  From mid May to June 12th, I got 3 more sets of water over the field with 9/64 nozzles on 12 hour sets.  I stopped water June 12th, as my 5 foot wheel lines got stuck out in the field and wouldn’t roll any more without breaking pipes.

I am now waiting for this rain system to clear out to cut, I hope to start on the 20th, if all goes well it will be in the bale around the 28th and I will be disking the field as I clear bales off.  I hope to start planting oats by the 3rd of July.

